I received my first Nature Box today.  This is what I thought of the entire experience.

I ordered my box two weeks ago, on a Sunday.  My account was charged the next day.  I received my box, today, February 11.  Two weeks and two days later.  The reason it takes so long is because they use the most economical method of shipping available, and they ship from the West Coast, through FedEx to the post office.  Well, I don’t know about you, but in this day and age, I feel like paying for something I do not get until two weeks later is crazy.  So, that’s annoying.

Cue the music, I’m opening the box!

I originally ordered: Sunshine Chips, Lemon Pucker Pistachios, French Vanilla Almond Granola, Lemon Tea Biscuits, and Salted Caramel Pretzel Pops.

First, the Sunshine Chips, which are supposed to be a healthy alternative to an ordinary potato chip.  They are squash, carrots, green beans, sweet potatoes and taro (what the hell is taro?  Did they mean Karo??)  If anyone knows me, they know I’m a borderline health food fanatic, and so yeah, I snapped these up.  They have great reviews and I thought if it could help me curb my potato ship frenzy, that would be great.  Let me say:  NOTHING IN THIS BAG WOULD EVER, *EVER*, EVERRRRRRRR MAKE ME GIVE UP THE LUSCIOUS GOODNESS OF POTATO CHIPS.  I felt almost like I was eating a spoonful of lard.  I think that might have been the taro (whatever the hell that is).  When I’m feeling braver later, I will attempt a green bean chip.  Maybe.  Or I could find a dog and see if he would eat a green bean chip out of this bag.  <Ewwwww>  If that’s what sunshine tastes like, I’ll continue eating snow.

The Lemon Pucker Pistachios.  Okay, this is brilliant.  I LOVE lemon.  I LOVE nuts (I really just said that).  The two together is a stroke of genius.  Nuts are high in protein, which I fear I lack in my diet.  Anything to help me incorporate more of that, is a good thing.  These were delicious!  Delicious, I say!  They somewhat made up for the yuckiness that was a sunshine chip.

The French Vanilla Almond Granola is some of the best granola I have ever eaten.  It was so fresh, not chewy at all, which frequently happens when you are buying granola.  I can’t wait to put a handful in some Greek yogurt and wait for the magic.  If it makes it that long.

The Lemon Tea Biscuits were so very delicious! I will literally have to pack a serving size and have my kid hide the big bag, or I would eat them all at one swoop.  They are lemony and buttery, and remind me very much of Walker’s Shortbread with a smidge of lemon in it.  Just the RIGHT smidge of lemon, mind you.  Not overpowering, but enough to know it’s there.  The problem is, I think all Nature Box subscribers adore this snack, and so it’s out of stock right now.

The Salted Caramel Pretzel Pops.  Hmm, when I think of salted caramel, I think of it as being lightly salted.  But, I do need to add, I am not a huge salt eater, at all.  I do only *lightly* salt anything as I am cooking it, preferring to add more after it’s done.  You can add, you can’t take away.  Back to the caramel pops.  They were so salty, I honestly thought I had just poured salt into my hand and eaten it straight out of the box. I could barely taste any caramel at all, and the pretzel bit was lost on me as well.

The bags varied in size from 4 to 6 ounces.  They were smaller than a regular bag of Bear Naked granola.  The Lemon Tea Biscuits, Lemon Pucker Pistachios, and Sunshine Chips were all in bags measuring 4 ounces.  The Salted Caramel Pretzel Pops measured 5 ounces, with the French Vanilla Almond Granola weighing in at 5.9 ounces.  Honestly, at $19.95 a month, these bags seem somewhat small.  But, I really think you’re paying for the service, not so much the size.  I have to consider taxes and then the time it would take for me to find these snacks in a store (some of which are produced only by NatureBox), plus gas getting to said store, plus all the other stuff I would buy while I was in the store.  This equals out to about $4/bag, so once you figure in the taxes and stuff you would pay if you went to WalMart, not to mention the quality of these snacks, then I think these are worth the money.

I would also like to say that Nature Box has the best customer service, period.  Don’t like a snack?  Email them and tell them, and they will give you a credit.  (At least right now, I’m sure they are trying to build their customer base).  They are very friendly and helpful, and that, more than anything will keep me subscribing for now.  (And the Lemon Tea Biscuits).

 

 

 

