It’s been a while, so please forgive me for the soap box.

There is really no arguing that Josh Duggar is troubled. Yet, the so-called outrage amid some Christians across the country is, I fear, not outrage per se, but a secret glee. Mind you, I am not defending the man, but I do think that we need to address our own motives for gossiping about this, because James 1:26 says “If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless.” Do I fail at this? Yes. But that’s not the point of this writing. This is not a blog about Josh, but a blog in support of Anna Duggar.

Duggar’s wife is a victim to her husband’s infidelity, and if you want to listen to some people, she’s also victim to God, because she believes in following the Bible as it was written, without adjustments for modern day thinking. The Bible states in many places that the man is the head of the home, and wives will submit to their husbands. The way it appears, Anna is truly a Godly woman, because she has submitted to her husband and her God, by following His Word.

I have heard that “poor Anna” cannot even divorce him because of her religion. Is that what Christians are supposed to wish upon other Christians? A divorce? I am divorced and I would not wish it upon anyone. Divorce is painful and awful, for all people involved – the husband and wife, the children, and the parents of the husband and wife. Harvard sociologist, Armand Nicholi III, says, “Divorce is not a solution, but an exchange of problems” (Rainey, Family Life). I would be lying if I did not admit to feeling somewhat ostracized at times because I am divorced, but mostly, I feel guilty, because I think I failed. I have lots of negative feelings about my own divorce, and so as this story unfolds, if Anna Duggar chooses to stand by her man and turn to God, I for one, will applaud her for her beliefs.

It is confusing and difficult to be a Christian these days. Too many either take the Bible as is (like the Duggars), or pick and choose the sins they believe to be sins. (Homosexuality? A sin to many Christians, yet divorce seems to be skipped over time and time again). As I have said before, I was not raised in church, but I did go on a spiritual journey after Chris died, having read my Bible repeatedly since then. I am sure I interpret most of it incorrectly, but I do so without specific denominational biases. I am not a great Christian, which is why I am choosing to write this. If I can stand on my side of the “back-slid Baptist” line and see how wrong it is that the public at large wishes Anna Duggar to get a divorce, then it should be obvious to better Christians than I. What Christians should do is pray for Anna, Josh, and their children, as well as the rest of their extended family. The ease and speed with which our country has turned on the Duggars exemplifies how hard our hearts have become.

